Madhya Pradesh was created by merging the states of Central India, Vindhya Pradesh and Bhopal under the States Reorganization Act, 1956, which came into force on November 1, 1956. Since then, India has seen eighteen Chief Ministers. The inaugural Chief Minister Pt. Ravi Shankar Shukla assumed office in 1956. Twelve members of the INC (Indian National Congress) served as Chief Ministers.

Govind Narayan Singh, leader of the United Legislature Party government from 1967 to 1969, provided the first example of a non-Congress Chief Minister. Congressman Digvijay Singh completed two full terms of five years. Uma Bharti, the only woman to hold the post of Chief Minister in Madhya Pradesh for a full term, is her successor and is affiliated with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The current and longest serving Chief Minister is Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who took office in 2005 and held the position for 13 years.

Bharatiya Janata Party has won the recently held elections but there is no information about who will become the Chief Minister, we will update this post after becoming the next Chief Minister.

MP CM List

Chief MinisterFromTo
Shivraj Singh Chouhan (BJP)23 Mar 2020Present
Kamal Nath (INC)18 Dec 201823 Mar 2020
Shivraj Singh Chauhan (BJP)14 Dec 201317 Dec 2018
Shivraj Singh Chauhan (BJP)13 Dec 200813 Dec 2013
Shivraj Singh Chauhan (BJP)29 Nov 200512 Dec 2008
Babulal Gaur (BJP)23 Aug 200429 Nov 2005
Uma Bharti (BJP)08 Dec 200323 Aug 2004
Digvijay Singh (INC)01 Dec 199808 Dec 2003
Digvijay Singh (INC)07 Dec 199301 Dec 1998
President’s rule16 Dec 199206 Dec 1993
Sunderlal Patwa (BJP)05 Mar 199015 Dec 1992
Shyama Charan Shukla (INC)09 Dec 198904 Mar 1990
Motilal Vora (INC)25 Jan 198908 Dec 1989
Arjun Singh (INC)14 Feb 198824 Jan 1989
Motilal Vora (INC)13 Mar 198513 Feb 1988
Arjun Singh (INC)11 Mar 198512 Mar 1985
Arjun Singh (INC)08 Jun 198010 Mar 1985
President’s rule18 Feb 198008 Jun 1980
Sunderlal PatwaJanata Party20 Jan 198017 Feb 1980
Virendra Kumar Saklecha Janata Party18 Jan 197819 Jan 1980
Kailash Chandra Joshi Janata Party26 Jun 197717 Jan 1978
President’s rule29 Apr 197725 Jun 1977
Shyama Charan Shukla (INC)23 Dec 197529 Apr 1977
Prakash Chandra Sethi (INC)23 Mar 197222 Dec 1975
Prakash Chandra Sethi (INC)29 Jan 197222 Mar 1972
Shyama Charan Shukla (INC)26 Mar 196928 Jan 1972
Raja Nareshchandra Singh (INC)13 Mar 196925 Mar 1969
Govind Narayan Singh (INC)30 Jul 196712 Mar 1969
Dwarka Prasad Mishra (INC)09 Mar 196729 Jul 1967
Dwarka Prasad Mishra (INC)30 Sep 196308 Mar 1967
Bhagwantrao Mandloi (INC)12 Mar 196229 Sep 1963
Kailash Nath Katju (INC)14 Mar 195711 Mar 1962
Kailash Nath Katju (INC)31 Jan 195714 Mar 1957
Bhagwantrao Mandloi (INC)01 Jan 195730 Jan 1957
Pt. Ravishankar Shukla (INC)01 Nov 195631 Dec 1956

Categorized in: